Several Categories of CDLs

A special CDL is required to drive a commercial vehicle in the Peach State (CDL). The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) establishes guidelines for earning a CDL.

A CDL can be earned by passing a knowledge test and a road test tailored to commercial vehicle operation. These exams aim to ensure you’re competent enough to drive a big rig without causing an accident.

How Many Different Kinds of Business Driver’s Permits Does the State of Georgia Offer?

Commercial drivers in Georgia can choose from three different license options.

Discuss your options with the Macon truck accident attorney.

Driver’s License, Class A (Commercial)

Driving or towing a vehicle that weighs more than 10,000 pounds requires a commercial driver’s license of Class A or higher. Vehicles of the following classes are often included in Class A CDL coverage:

  • 18-wheelers
  • Significant privileges
  • Semi-trucks
  • Tractor-trailers
  • Transporters for livestock
  • Flatbed vehicles
  • Mobile fuel depots

You can drive both Class B and Class C commercial vehicles with an endorsement for your Class A commercial driver’s license.

If you are between the ages of 18 and 21, you can only get an intrastate CDL that will allow you to drive in Georgia. For commercial drivers, this means applying to have the “Georgia Only” limitation removed on or after their 21st birthday. In Georgia, this rule affects every kind of commercial driver’s licence.

Valid Commercial Driver’s License, Class B

When towing a vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more and the weight of the trailer being pulled is less than 10,000 pounds, you must have a Class B commercial driver’s license. Some vehicles that require a Class B CDL include:

  • Transport buses in the city
  • Tractor-trailers
  • Pickup vehicles pulling compact trailers
  • Buses for sightseers
  • Cargo vans and box trucks
  • Huge buses used to transport people
  • Segregated bus stops

While Class C CDL is a prerequisite for Class B CDL, drivers with a Class B CDL can operate Class C vehicles. Also, a Class B driver’s license holder must be at least 18.

Commercial Driver’s License Endorsements in Georgia

  • A placard is required to transport hazardous materials, so you’ll need the H endorsement.
  • Required N Endorsement for Operating a Tanker Transporting Liquids and Gases.
  • A P endorsement is required to operate a bus with 16 passengers or more, including the driver.
  • School bus drivers are required to hold an S endorsement and meet additional standards, such as a clean criminal record.
  • One needs a T endorsement if one intends to operate a vehicle capable of towing several trailers.
  • All the benefits of both the H and N endorsements are in one convenient package.

Leave a Comment